News, Awards and Announcements

2020  Alex Marson will lead the first joint Gladstone-UCSF research entity, the Gladstone-UCSF INstitute of Genomic Immunicology, which will bring together genomics and immunology to develop next-generation cell therapies.  Read more

2019  Alex Marson was awarded the Cancer Research Institute STAR Award

2019  Alex Marson was inducted into The American Society of Clinical Investigation (ASCI)  

2019  Andrej Sali was inducted into the National Academy of Science

2019  Jennifer Doudna received the American Cancer Society Medal of Honor, the Kavli Prize in Nanoscience (Norway), the V de Vida Award (Spain) and a number of other awards honoring her contributions to science

2018  Yifan Cheng was the 2018 recipient of the Christian Anfinsen award of the Protein Society

2017 Michael Emerman was awarded the KT Jeang Retrovirology Prize 2017 

2017  Charles Craik was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  Read more.

2017 Alex Marson was selected as a Chan Zuckerberg Investigator.  Read more.

2016 Jennifer Doudna was awarded the Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science.

2016 HARC collaborator Alexander Marson was awarded the American Society of Clinical Investigation (ASCI) Young Physician-Scientist Award.

2016 Jennifer Doudna was awarded the Paul Erlich Prize, Germany; the Gairdner Prize, Canada, and the Paul G. Allen Distinguished Investigator Frontiers Award.

2016  Charles Craik was awarded the Protein Society Emil T. Kaiser Award.

2016   Jennifer Doudna was honored as a laureate of the 2016 L'Oreal-UNESCO Women in Science Awards in the field of life sciences in a Ceremony at the Sorbonne University .

2015  Jennifer Doudna (along with Emanuelle Charpentier and Philippe Horvath) was awarded the Massry Prize.

2015  Jennifer Doudna and Crispr are featured in a cover article in  Wired magazine.  

2015  The Thermo-Fisher Scientific Proteomics Facility for Disease Target Discovery, directed by Nevan Krogan, opened today at the Gladstone Institutes (left), to accelerate targeted proteomics research using the most advanced mass spectrometry technologies.  Read more

2015 Congratulations to Yifan Cheng (left), who was selected as a Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) Investigator

2015  Jennifer Doudna was recognized as one of Time Magazine's 100 most influential people in the world.

2014  Charles Craik and Jennifer Doudna were accepted as Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors

2014  Jennifer Doudna has been named a winner of a 2015 Breakthrough Prize (left).  Read more

Charles Craik gave a Plenary Lecture for SEBBM 2014 (Sociedad Espanola de Bioquimica y Biologia Molecular), Granada Spain

October 2014.  Alan Frankel was a Keynote speaker at the Twenty-first West Coast Retrovirus Meeting, Oct. 2-4, 2014 Palm Springs.

October 2014.  Jennifer Doudna received the Jacob Heskel Gabby Award in Biotechnology and Medicine

June 2014.   Jennifer Doudna received the Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research

May 2014.   Bob Stroud was a Keynote Speaker at Frontiers in Membrane Protein Structure and Dynamics, Chicago and gave the 8th C.B. Anfinsen Memorial Lecture at the Weizman Institute

March 2014.  Jennifer Doudna was awarded the Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences by the Foundation for NIH. She will be presented with the Lurie Prize Medal and $100,000 honorarium in a ceremony on May 20 in Washington D.C. Click here for details

John Gross was an Invited Speaker at the Max Planck Institute, Martinsried, GERMANY

John Gross taught "Complexomics of HIV Infection" at the "Summer School on Systems Medicine" in Kiel, Germany from Sept 7-11 , 2014, and Summer School for NMR Spectroscopy at Freie Universitat, Berlin, GERMANY

Yifan Cheng will be a Keynote Speaker at the International Biophysics Congress, (18th Triennial Congress of International Union of Pure and Applied Biophysics, IUPAB), August 3-7, 2014, Brisbane, Australia (invited keynote speaker) Click here for more information